User accounts and visibility
There are four levels of visibility for user accounts in Mokum: public, Mokum-only, private, and public, hidden from search engines. There is also additional “private sub-feed”, which is visible only to users you have allowed to subscribe (even if you have a public account).
When you post to your feed, posts are visible according to your account visibility. When you post to a group, posts are visible according to the group visibility. Your posts on aggregate pages, such as “Best of” and “Everything” are visible according to your account visibility.
If you cross-post to your feed and some group, or to more than one group, then the lowest protection is applied. For example, if your account is private, and your cross-post to a public group, your post will be visible publicly.
Your comments in other people’s posts are visible according to their visibility.
Public accounts are most popular. Your posts and comments are visible to anyone, including anonymous users. Search engines can index your posts and comments.
Mokum-only account are visible only to other Mokum users. They are not visible to anonymous users and search engines. Anonymous users will see “Private feed” warning when looking at your posts.
When you use Mokum-only account, your comments in other people’s posts are visible according to their visibility. Your posts in groups are visible according to their visibility.
Private account is second most popular. Your posts are visible only to people who you allowed to subscribe (and not visible to anonymous users and search engines). When somebody wants to subscribe to your private account, they will have to click the “Request subscription” button. You will see their subscription request in right column (or at the bottom, if you’re on a mobile device), and you will have a choice of approving or rejecting subscription.
When you use private account, your comments in other people’s posts are visible according to their visibility. Your posts in groups are visible according to their visibility.
When you try to change visibility of your account from public to private, you will see the additional checkbox labeled as “You’re going private: unsubscribe non-mutual subscribers from your feed?”. If you check this, all people who are currently subscribed to you but you are not subscribed to them will be unsubscribed from your account before going private. Please note that this may take some time (but usually happens very fast), up to several minutes. By default this checkbox is unchecked, and that means that everyone who was subscribed to your public account will still see your posts.
Private sub-feed. Even if you have a public account, you can have another sub-feed, which is always private. You can enable your private sub-feed on “Settings” page. You can post to your private sub-feed by clicking at “Private sub-feed” link in the right column (or at the bottom, if you’re on a mobile device). You can request subscription to other people’s private sub-feed if you know its URL.
You can invite users to your private sub-feed on your “Subscribers” page, see “Private sub-feed: invite other users” section. The user must be already subscribed to your primary account.
You can see people subscribed to your private sub-feed at your “Subscribers” page. You can unsubscribe people from your private sub-feed there (and they will not get any notification about this).
If you’re subscribed to someone’s private sub-feed, you can see who else is subscribed at the bottom of their “Subscribers” page.
Public (hidden from search engines) accounts are just like public, but use special directives (meta noindex attribute), prohibiting search engines from indexing your posts and account page. Please note that malicious or misbehaving robots can ignore those restrictions and still index your content. However, established search engines such as Google honour those restrictions.